View Finder

Since my daughters are no longer home full time I have become a bit of a photography buff.  Well, that may not be an accurate characterization.  Maybe I am a little obsessed with taking pictures – something of a rabid amateur – and the more I do it the more I want to.

Where the lake and sky meet.

Where the lake and sky meet.

Great portrait photography requires both skill and artistry to capture the essence of a person.  I am in awe of those who can do that, but it is not my focus (pun intended.)

Winter Ravine

Winter Ravine

Landscapes, nature, and architecture are my favorite subjects.   They never tell me to stop, to put down my camera, or to walk away.  They never say “bad hair day” or “I’m too fat.”  As photo subjects they simply ARE.  Fortunately, I live in an area where we enjoy four beautiful, yet very distinct, seasons.  So the subject matter is readily available and always changing.

A photo is a reflection of a moment.  It seizes a single point in time and allows us to keep it and then go back and review it long after the second has passed.  It also catches a singular and very personal point of view and makes it available to many sets of eyes.

Remarkable Ruin

Remarkable Ruin

By itself, photography does not create anything.  My goal is to simply capture the best image of what I see.  If that is an art form, then I feel blessed to have eyes that find beauty or interest in the world around me.

My camera is not high-end.  It is a very respectable Canon point and shoot with some great features and manual settings when I want them.  I am not adept at the manual settings, but do play with them from time to time.  Maybe someday I’ll graduate to a DSLR, but right now that’s intimidating and I don’t have time to learn something new.  Maybe I’m not really a Photographer, if I don’t use a ‘real’ camera.  But I’m okay with that.  It’s not my career, it’s a hobby.

Foggy Morning

Foggy Morning

So if you run into me I am not likely to take your picture, unless you’re one of my kids in which case I may want some snapshots to remember what you look like when you’re many miles away.  But I am likely to have my camera nearby since it is my almost constant traveling companion.  And if you see my car pulled off to the side of the road, it’s probably because something caught my eye and I simply needed to stop and save it to look at again later.  And possibly to share it with you.

4 thoughts on “View Finder

  1. Remember the “Good Ole Days” when you could have also written: “I’ll try this and see what develops”? Now there no negative comments that can be made. But, we can still shutter at what other comments may be made here, eh? I’ll fstop for now. BTW, nice pics, Sheila.

Leave a Reply

