Making a List

I could be Santa Claus. Really, I could.

I love to give presents. Getting presents is nice, but it is the giving that really moves me.

All year long I try to look for cues to figure out what my family might really want or need. Sometimes they might mention something in August, and I file that note away in my head until I come upon something that will fill their need or want. Once in a while I hit the nail right on the head. Sometimes I fall short, but I’m usually fairly close.

So I really could be Santa. Just the idea that someone could intuitively understand what someone else wants and then make that dream a reality is a fascinating concept.

Then there’s the delivery: providing presents for everyone all at the same time is a magical notion. I know that Christmas is not based on presents under the tree, but the whole idea of it is very appealing. There is nothing I like better than Christmas morning, cup of coffee in hand, and watching my kids open presents that have been lovingly selected just for them.

So perhaps I am in the wrong line of work. If you know of any other job description like this, please let me know. In the meantime, I think I’ll send up a note to the North Pole…

packagesDear Santa:

I have been very good this year. Well, pretty good. What I really want for Christmas is your job. I have a passion for giving gifts and a pretty good track record for finding just the right thing for people. When you are ready to retire, please let me know. I’ll send my resume along faster than you can say, “On Dasher, on Dancer, on Prancer and Vixen!” I can supply references, as well.

Yes, one thing about Christmas that’s special to me is gift-giving. I love to wrap presents, too.  Presentation is important, so each gift should be wrapped carefully and beautifully.  So I could be Santa Claus.

Plus, that single deadline of one night a year is incredibly tempting.

With wishes that you find peace and joy under your tree, I wish you all a Merry Christmas!

3 thoughts on “Making a List

Leave a Reply

